Special Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees 621 South State Street, Jackson, MS 39201 Monday, September 26, 2022 12:00 p.m.

Board Members via Teleconference Dr. Ed Sivak, President Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member Frank Figgers, Member Cynthia Thompson, Member Robert Luckett, Member Letitia S. Johnson, Member

Attorneys and Administrative Staff Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent Dorian Turner, Board Attorney Larrissa Moore, Esq., DGC William M. Merritt, IV., Chief of Staff Dr. Michael Cormack, Deputy Supt.

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. Call to Order: Dr. Ed Sivak, Board President, called the Special Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on September 26, 2022, at 12:04 P. M.
- II. Establishment of Quorum: A quorum was established as all members, namely, President Ed Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Letitia Johnson, Jeanne M. Hairston, Dr. Robert Luckett, Frank Figgers and Cynthia Thompson participated via video/teleconference.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Dr. Luckett moved that the Board adopt the agenda as presented; Dr. Hairston seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Letitia Johnson, Dr. Hairston, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, and Dr. Robert Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

Mrs. Hilliard had not yet joined the meeting.

- IV. Information/Action Item(s):
 - a. Approval of Legacy Scholars Grant Agreement with Equal Justice Initiative and Jackson Public Schools (CHS): The Board voted to approve item a. Dr. Luckett moved, Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson, Dr. Hairston, Frank Figgers and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - b. Approval of Legacy Scholars Grant Agreement with Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) and Jackson Public Schools (MHS): The Board voted to approve item b. Dr. Luckett moved, Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
 - c. Approval of Legacy Scholars Grant Agreement with Equal Justice Initiative and Jackson Public Schools (LHS): The Board voted to approve item c. Dr. Luckett moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

Barbara Hilliard joined the meeting

d. Approval of Memorandum of Understanding between the Hinds County Human Resource Agency (HCHRA) and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD) for Isable Elementary School: The Board voted to approve item d. Dr. Hairston moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**

- e. <u>Approval of the School Innovation Application (District Assurances)</u>: The Board voted to approve item e. Cynthia Thompson moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- f. Approval of After-School Agreements (Mississippi Children's Museum (renewal), Reconstruction, Greater Jackson Arts Council (renewal), Jackson Medical Mall Foundation (renewal), Amiable Productions (renewal), Sylvan Learning Center (renewal), Sports Paradise Fitness & Fundamentals (renewal), Parents for Public Schools of Jackson (Ask for More) - renewal, Global Gateways (renewal), Corporation for Global Community Development (renewal), Toot, Teach & Roll, Jackson State University (Kids Kollege), Bean Path (renewal), Test-Taking Solution, Genesis and Light (renewal), and Uplifting Arms) for After-School Programs for the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item f. Dr. Hairston moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: President Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson, Frank Figgers, Dr. Hairston, and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- V. Consideration to Hold Executive Session: None.
- VI. <u>Adjourn</u>: Dr. Luckett moved, and Cynthia Thompson seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned.

Ed Sivak, Board President

Robert Luckett, Board Secretary

October 7, 2022

Date

2022